Sark Lighthouse is located at Point Robert on the island’s northeastern side. It is often called Point Robert Lighthouse. Sited halfway down a steep cliff, the lighthouse warns of the Blanchard Rock, a few miles east of the island.
The lighthouse was built in 1913. Two flat terraced sections were carved out of the cliff face and surrounded by stone walls. The keepers’ accommodation comprised two blocks in a stepped layout, one block behind the other.
The 55 feet high white octagonal lighthouse tower is 55ft high due to its elevation of 213 feet. The only access to the station is via a steep flight of 165 steps leading down. Because of its remote location, it operated as a rock station, so the families did not live on site.
During the Second World War, German forces occupied the island from 1940 – 1945. They manned the site, and the keepers were withdrawn. In the surrounding walls, two holes were cut to make gun emplacements, and the area was mined. The store was used as a prison.
After the war, on 27th October 1945, two local assistants were appointed. The lighthouse and fog signal became operational once more.
Sark Lighthouse was automated in 1994. In 2017 the lighthouse was upgraded, and the optic was replaced with two LED lanterns, one providing a standby light. During this modernisation, the electrical system was also replaced.
In Sark Parish Church is a tapestry cover made by former Principal Keeper Harold Taylor. The tapestry is located on the front pew and was placed there in Easter 1980.
Sark Island is three miles long and two miles wide. No cars are on the island; the only transportation means are by bicycle, pony and trap or by foot. The island is accessible by ferry from St Peter Port, Guernsey.
The lighthouse is not open to the public.