The beautifully designed Stewartry Museum was purpose-built in 1893. The initial collection was founded in 1879 and housed within Kirkcudbright Town Hall.
There are a wealth of collections of man-made tools, local life, spinning, weapons, farming, and geology.
On the first floor, a gallery around the perimeter overlooks the floor below, with preserved birds, eggs and insects.
On the ground floor is the former optic and clockwork mechanism from Little Ross Lighthouse. An acetylene lamp changer is also positioned inside the optic. The Northern Lighthouse Board donated the optic to the Stewartry Museum in 2004 following conversion to solar power.
The Museum holds a local history and archive collection. Within its collection include petitions for the lighthouse as well as other records relating to the lighthouse.
Kirkcudbright is a pretty town with a 16th century McLellan’s Castle dominating the town centre. It has a lively harbour and shops, wide streets and picturesque houses. The town is nestled in the shelter of Kirkcudbright Bay.
The Island of Little Ross is located just outside Kirkcudbright Bay and can be seen from the coastline.
Kirkcudbright Lifeboat station lies to the east shore at Manxman’s Lake, which has smuggling connections with the Isle of Man.
Admission is free to the museum.