Mizen Head Lighthouse

Mizen Head
Photo: Patrick Tubby

Mizen Head Lighthouse is located on an island at the extremity of Ireland’s most southwesterly point and was built originally as a fog signal station. 

Although plans for a lighthouse were approved, it was later decided that only a fog signal was necessary.

on 22nd December 1908, the SS Trada was wrecked off Mizen Head.  The engineer and workmen on site saved 63 people’s lives.  An inquest early the following year attributed the loss of the vessel to the lack of a fog signal.

Mizen Head
Photo: Patrick Tubby

The fog signal was established on 3rd May 1909. Accommodation for the keepers was also built close by, and these dwellings were whitewashed in July 1914 to make them more visible as a daymark.

Initially, the station used explosive signals. However, in May 1920, the explosives were stolen during an armed raid. As a result, other stations around the coastline stopped using explosive fog signals.

On 29th February 1924, the fog signal was reinstated, and on 1st June 1934, the character was altered to 2 shots every 5 minutes.  A brilliant white flash was fired with the fog signal when it sounded at night.  This flash was withdrawn during the Second World War and reestablished in 1949, and explosives were discontinued in 1969.

Mizen Light
Photo: Patrick Tubby

Mizen Head was the first site to have a radio beacon installed. It went into operation on 1st January 1931.

Initially, the Fastnet Lighthouse keepers were responsible for looking after the station. This continued until 1931, when a Principal Keeper at Mizen Head was appointed alongside two Assistant Keepers.  One of the keepers also worked at Crookhaven Lighthouse.

Lights
Photo: Patrick Tubby

On 1st October 1959, a light was established at Mizen Head, displaying an occulting white light every 4 seconds.  The range was increased to 16 miles in October 1968.

Mizen Head Lighthouse was automated in March 1993.  Following automation, the buildings were created into a visitor centre

Fastnet stones
Fastnet Memorial
Photo: Patrick Tubby

In 2003, a commemorative Fastnet Lighthouse stone course was laid close to the visitor centre.  The course is a scale model of one of the floors of the Fastnet Lighthouse.

Bridge at Mizen Head
Photo: Patrick Tubby

A reinforced concrete suspension bridge connects the mainland to the rock on which the lighthouse stands.

Visitors should allow at least a few hours to visit Mizen Head, including a walk over the suspension bridge to the visitor centre. Dogs are welcome if kept on a lead.