Seahouses Harbour Lighthouse

Seahouses Harbour

Seahouses Harbour Lighthouse is located at the end of the north west pier in North Sunderland Harbour. It was initially called Sunderland, later North Sunderland, to avoid confusion with the town of the same name.

The 25ft high octagonal white tower was built in 1900 and shines a fixed green light from its seaward window.

A fishing community was built here, comprising small cottages or sea houses. The village developed further with the arrival of the railway. Between 1898 and 1951, the North Sunderland Railway ran to the terminus at Seahouses.

Originally, the harbour had a modest wooden jetty between two rocky promontories.

Seahouses Harbour

On the north east side of the harbour is a long breakwater, and at its entrance is the Powder House, a former explosives store built in 1886. It was used to store the gunpowder needed for the construction of the long pier and new harbour.

Seahouses is around twelve miles north of Alnwick and less than four miles from Bamburgh. Nestled on the rugged shores of the North Sea, the small fishing village serves as a gateway to the offshore Farne Islands. During summer, boats depart to the islands to see the diverse wildlife. Boat trips pass Inner Farne and its lighthouse and Longstone Lighthouse, home to the heroine Grace Darling.

Look out for the Trinity House store in the corner opposite the Lifeboat station by the pier. In the summer, the boat operators’ ticket offices are lined up here.

Seahouses Harbour Lighthouse is under the authority of North Sunderland Harbour Commissioners.

Established: 1900
Tower Height: 8 metres
Light Character: Fixed Green
Light Range: 3 miles
Elevation: 11 metres