Dovercourt Lighthouses

Dovercourt High Lighthouse
Dovercourt High and Low Lighthouses

The cast-iron towers of Dovercourt High and Low Lighthouses, also known as the Dovercourt Range Lights, were built in 1863. They were built as leading lights, guiding ships navigating the estuary of the River Stour, serving the nearby port of Harwich.

They replaced the Harwich lighthouses to the north, which had become obsolete due to the shifting channels and the build-up of Landguard Spit. The towers were built on a moveable track that could be realigned as the channels changed.

Dovercourt Lighthouse

The High Lighthouse, 45 feet high, is closest to the promenade. It is hexagonal and has six cast-iron legs.

The Low Lighthouse is 27 feet high, octagonal, and mounted on four legs. It is located approximately 180 metres further out to sea and is accessible at low water via a causeway.

Both lighthouses are examples of cast-iron screw-pile lighthouses invented by Alexander Mitchell.

Leading lights
Photo: Patrick Tubby

When aligned, the gas-powered lights guided vessels into the new Harwich channel. The High Lighthouse was visible for 11 miles, and the Low Light was visible for 9 miles.

Both towers were painted black, with a white wooden lantern and a black roof. They were accessed via a ladder leading up externally. The accommodation at both towers was almost identical. They had a living room with a cooking stove, bunks, and a toilet. Another inner staircase led up to the lantern. Both were connected to the town gas and the telephone.

Sunset at Dovercourt

Both lighthouses were discontinued in 1917. They were replaced by a single light on the Harwich breakwater, rendering them obsolete. In 1922 Harwich Town Council bought the two lighthouses from Trinity House. They were restored in the 1980s by the High Stewards Lighthouse Appeal. Both buildings are now Grade II listed structures.

The distinctive lighthouses are visible from Dovercourt promenade.

The nearby town of Harwich offers attractions such as the Harwich High and Low Lighthouses, the historic Ha’penny Pier alongside which LV18 Lightvessel is moored, and close by the Trinity House Operations Centre

Trinity Cottages
Trinity Cottages, Fronks Road

Also around the corner from the lighthouses are the Trinity Cottages on Fronks Road. Built in 1862, they were used as accommodation for former lighthouse service personnel.

Explore the Harwich Trail

Dovercourt High LighthouseEstablished: 1863 Discontinued: 1917 Engineer: Tower Height: 14 metres Light Character: Range: Fog Signal: Elevation: Automated:
Dovercourt Low LighthouseEstablished: 1863 Discontinued: 1917 Engineer: Tower Height: 8 metres Light Character: Range: Fog Signal: Elevation: Automated: