John Smeaton’s Tower replaced John Rudyerd’s Eddystone Lighthouse in 1759, and was replaced by the current Eddystone Lighthouse, built by James Douglass in 1882.
It is open to the public, and can also be hired for weddings.
A short walk away in Millbay, there is a footprint of Smeaton’s Tower on the pavement, showing how the courses of stone were pieced together.
Read more about the lighthouses of Eddystone
Discover more places to visit in and around Plymouth